Of New Years and Resolutions

It's a new year! Do you make New Year's resolutions?

It’s a new year! Do you make New Year’s resolutions?

It’s a new year! Do you make New Year’s resolutions? I do.

Early this year, I read somewhere that instead of making a list of things that one wants to accomplish, he/ she should focus on a theme instead. That way, the items on one’s list don’t simply appear as random things-to-do. That makes sense.

For a while, I tried my best to follow-through after creating a list around the theme “nourish”: relationships, creativity, health, and so on. Eventually, I admit to giving up. Not on my resolutions, but on following the theme I’ve set for myself. I find myself asking, “what kind of nourishing will this activity fall into” whenever I want to do something. That’s tiring, and I feel constricted having to box my every move into a word (theme).

I’m sure whoever came up with that suggestion meant well. At the same time, just do whatever works for you. Personally, I go for creating a list with three major items on it and ranked according to importance. The mind works in threes (e.g. A, B, C; do, re, mi; 1, 2, 3). More importantly, fewer resolutions are easier to remember and, thus, more likely to happen.

Leave a Reply

