Start Following Your Dreams

(This email blast was sent to my team last 12 March 2013 as an entry to an ongoing project called Communications Toolbox.)

Dear Team,

After much trawling and hunting, I finally found an online article that most (if not all) of us can enjoy and relate to.

Link: Start Following Your Dreams, Stop Worrying About What You’re ‘Supposed To Do’ (Source: LinkedIn.com)

Actually, it is another article on following your dreams. Whether those (dreams) are for yourself or for your family, the underlying message is: don’t wait. Or at the very least, don’t worry too much about the outcome.

Not many people know that I sew. When I was in high school and college, I would sew small items for myself or as gifts for friends. It was when I learned how to sew that I discovered how much of a, er, perfectionist I am. I would quickly rip apart any stitch that is out of line because my “dream” was to produce the “perfect” bag or vanity kit or drawstring pouch or anything I fancied.

My maternal grandmother was the one who taught me how to sew. She was a professional seamstress and yet she was just as quick to tell me, “You will never finish your project if you keep taking things apart!” Then to humor me, she would add, “Who do you think will see that imperfect stitch you’re stressing over?”

She had a point.

Admittedly, I have yet to outgrow that way of thinking (i.e. making things as near-perfect as possible). However, I’ve definitely made strides in terms of taking the bull by the horns and not worrying too much about what’s going to happen.

In the end, I’d much rather count the number of times I said, “I did it!” rather than count the moments I asked, “What if?”

Happy reading and reflecting.

Leave a Reply

