Make Time for Health

Very recently, I fell ill. I woke up one morning feeling like a porcupine had taken residence in my throat, and my eyes had turned to burning coals when I was asleep.

A visit to the doctor confirmed the symptoms were indicative of flu-in-the-making. If I had insisted on working that day – instead of calling-in sick – my condition could’ve worsened.

In hindsight, I think I know why I became sick, but first, a little back-story. I like getting a lot of things done. In fact before 2012 ended, I already knew what my New Year’s goals were going to be. “I came up with three,” I proudly shared with a friend, “because I want to make sure I’ll be able to achieve all of them in 2013!”

Unfortunately, none of the three goals were related to staying healthy. In fact, pulling off all three would mean I have to be on my toes (figuratively) almost all the time. But the human body is not like a machine that was built to operate 24-7. Even machines have days off.

The threat of flu that morning was clearly a wake-up call to slow down. It’s only January, after all. Goals, whether they are personal or work-related, should be accomplished one at a time, if possible.

It bears repeating: take good care of yourself. You won’t only have the energy to do everything you’ve dreamed of doing, but you’ll also be able to savor the wins and share lessons learned with loved ones.

Leave a Reply

