“What I Wish I Could Have Told Myself”

The following is my answer to Jeff Haden’s (@jeff_haden) article titled, “What Do YOU Wish You Could Have Told Yourself?” It was published in LinkedIn on 28 January 2013. Please click this link if you want to give it a try, too.
________________________________________

Take more “calculated” risks. There’s a lot to be learned from sticking our neck out once in a while and leaving our comfort zone.

Yes, it’s hard to mend a broken heart, but that shouldn’t stop you from falling in love again. How else will you know if the next one is the “right one” for you?

Trust your instincts, especially when you feel your job is no longer satisfying. Higher-ups and even loved ones may sincerely have the best intentions for keeping you where you are, but your heart and mind know you a lot better than they do. Weigh your options, listen to yourself, pray for guidance, act accordingly and not impulsively.

Take more solo trips. I traveled with family members when I was growing up, but now that I’m older, I find traveling alone to be liberating. Of course I have friends who meet me at my destination, but the actual journey from point A to B or even C is lined with wonderful people you may not have the chance to talk to at length if you’re with family members and friends all the time. Chance meetings are memorable in many ways!

Never stop learning. There’s nothing like “growing up” on campus, but lessons await beyond the four walls of college and university. Even if you think you have the worst boss or colleagues or even as you wonder what you’ve done to deserve shoddy treatment from “friends,” there are lessons to be learned from those encounters. Just like diamonds are revealed when gemologists persistently chip away rocks covering them, so will you discover your weaknesses and strengths when you are faced with challenging individuals. You’ll learn that the best way to deal with those you consider “unpleasant” is to remain diplomatic. It’s not what you do to them, it’s how you make them feel that will win them over. Most of the time, that is.

3 responses

  1. Great post! I really need to take the advice of never stop learning. After I was finished college I probably enjoyed the new freedom I had a little too much! I was almost anti-learning after finishing my degree! However, after the much needed break I am back at trying to learn and am starting my masters in a few months! Whew.

    Like

    1. Going back to take your masters degree? That’s great news! What course will you be enrolling in?

      Like

    2. What a happy coincidence! I just enrolled in a non-audit (not graded) class very recently. I thought I’ll be veering away from communication (my undergraduate degree) for a change. Hmm, for some reason, I’m back where I started.

      Good to know I can “exchange notes” with you with being a student again. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

