Random thoughts (14 January 2013)

When I was much younger, I used to think writing a letter meant filling out the entire stationery, some of which were as big as an 8.5 x 11-sized bond paper. Not surprisingly, I ended up with letters that sounded contrived, if not boring, because they were long. Long on words and short on essence.

Eventually, I learned I didn’t have to write everything that’s happening to me. I discovered my hands are less tired – and my readers less bored – if I talk about one experience and elaborate on that.

Nowadays, I get more satisfaction when I send a card to congratulate a friend on an upcoming wedding, on the birth of a new member of a family, or simply to surprise someone. In short, I find it more meaningful to write letters that focus the spotlight on those around me.

Sentences are no longer just letters put together to fill a space. They’ve become important components in building and sustaining a connection between me and those I cherish.

Leave a Reply

